Changing Names

calendar of knowing

I love the quote from Mary Oliver’s poem “Tell me what it is you plan to do with your one wild and precious life” so much that I leaped in and named my blog after it.

I found a sweet friend who had named her blog just the same way, so I will never regret that decision, but it is the leaping that gets me in trouble. You see, I can tell you all day long what I plan to do with my life…and what I am doing to make it happen…but somewhere in there I need the space to let God direct my steps toward what I should be doing.

Then I stumbled upon Proverbs 19:2 last week and it hit me between the eyes.  I mean God made me literally laugh out loud.

Desire without knowledge is not good-how much more will hasty feet miss the way!

It was the ! that got me, because it is a question with a ! so it’s more like ?!?!? As someone who tends to fling myself at projects and throw all my energy toward them, it is such a good reminder that if you don’t stop and pray to make sure you SHOULD be flinging yourself at something, you might miss the thing God has for you to do. I love that other versions have “enthusiasm” and “zeal” in place of “desire” because those are some of my strongest points…until they’re not. Any strength overdone becomes a weakness; confidence becomes arrogance, passion becomes anger and zeal becomes hasty feet that have missed the way.

I do not want that to be me.

Down here in the Big Easy they say “slow your roll” and this shift in semantics is a way to remind myself of that. Everything is permissible, but not everything is beneficial, or just because you can doesn’t mean you should.

Therefore my goal is to stop flinging and leaping and being hasty. I am still a girl with can-do spirit, I just want to let God launch me into action appropriately.

4 thoughts on “Changing Names

  1. ” Any strength overdone becomes a weakness; confidence becomes arrogance, passion becomes anger and zeal becomes hasty feet that have missed the way.” This was a great post and a good word!! I’m tweeting the quote!! Keep this up…you have so much to share!!
    blessings,
    Gay @CaptiveHeart

Leave a Reply

